top of page

What Are the Biohazard Safety Levels?

Updated: Apr 12

What Are the Biohazard Safety Levels Graphic

Biohazard safety levels, established by the Centers for Disease Control, categorize biological agents based on their risk to laboratory personnel and the general public. These guidelines, which are essential for disease control and prevention, ensure that microbiological and biomedical laboratories handle potentially dangerous and exotic agents responsibly.

These levels include BSL-1, BSL-2, BSL-3 and BSL-4.

Anyone who's working with infectious agents can benefit greatly from understanding these biological safety levels, as they indicate the safety requirements to protect workers and the environment. So, here's a comprehensive guide on biohazard safety levels.

Biohazard Safety Levels Explained

Here's a comprehensive breakdown of each of the four biosafety levels:

Biosafety Level 1 (BSL-1)

Biosafety level 1 is the least threatening. It's designated for agents that present minimal potential hazards to laboratory personnel, the public, and the environment. These agents aren't known to consistently cause disease in healthy adults. At this level, standard microbiological practices are used, requiring no special containment. BSL-1 is also suitable for educational institutions and basic research.

Example: Non-pathogenic strains of E. coli

Procedures and facilities

The main requirement for this level is the use of basic laboratory practices and standard personal protective equipment (PPE).

Standard and special practices

Only basic microbiological practices are necessary, such as washing hands, restricting food consumption, and properly disposing of waste.

Safety equipment

PPE like gloves and lab coats are used. Advanced respiratory protection isn't required.

Biosafety Level 2 (BSL-2)

BSL-2 builds on the foundation of BSL-1. It introduces measures to handle agents that pose moderate hazards to laboratory workers and the environment. These agents can cause human disease but have a limited risk of spreading. Effective treatments are also typically readily available.

BSL-2 emphasizes enhanced practices, particularly in the lab, such as access controls, using PPE, and biosafety training.

This level is common in hospitals, diagnostic services, and research laboratories where staff handle mildly pathogenic agents.

Examples: Staphylococcus aureus, Hepatitis B virus, and HIV

Procedures and facilities

Often requires self-closing doors, biohazard signage, and facilities to decontaminate waste. Equipment includes safety-engineered sharps and autoclaves for sterilizing agents.

Standard and special practices

Includes limited area access, safe handling of sharps, and steps to minimize aerosol generation.

Safety equipment

Appropriate PPE such as gloves, hazmat suits, and eye protection are mandatory. Class II biosafety cabinets are used for procedures with a high risk of generating aerosol-transmitted laboratory infections.

Biosafety Level 3 (BSL-3)

Biosafety level 3 is designed for work with agents that can cause serious or lethal disease through inhalation. This means that stricter safety and containment measures are needed, particularly in a laboratory setting.

These agents usually pose a high risk to lab staff and the general public, in addition to having the potential for airborne transmission. A good example would be a life-threatening disease like tuberculosis. In this sense, agents on this level require specialized facilities for containment.

Examples: Mycobacterium tuberculosis, SARS-CoV

Procedures and facilities

Access to facilities or areas is strictly controlled, with sealed windows and negative pressure ventilation. All work with infectious materials is done with biosafety cabinets and other equivalents.

Standard and special practices

Laboratory personnel need to undergo medical surveillance and might be offered immunizations for the agents they're working with.

Safety equipment

The use of higher-grade personal protective equipment that often includes respirators. Dedicated biohazard decontamination systems and shower areas are also available for personnel exiting the area.

Biosafety Level 4 (BSL-4)

Biosafety level 4 is the highest, representing the peak of biocontainment levels. It's designated for working with incredibly dangerous and exotic agents that pose a high risk of aerosol transmission. These agents are frequently fatal if vaccines and treatments aren't readily available.

Also, a BSL-4 facility will be an isolated and restricted zone. This is why they often have very strict access controls and advanced safety measures to protect laboratory workers and the general public.

Examples: Ebola, Marburg

Procedures and facilities

BSL-4 labs are frequently placed in standalone buildings or clearly marked zones within a larger complex. They feature airlocks, shower exits, and specialized ventilation systems to maintain negative pressure.

All work has to be done through Class III biological safety cabinets or by personnel wearing full-body, air-supplied pressure suits. The likelihood of encountering a potentially lethal disease is incredibly high.

Standard and special practices

Absolute isolation of the lab or afflicted area, if possible. Entry and exit procedures are incredibly strict and often include a chemical shower for decontamination.

Safety equipment

Requires the use of specialized safety equipment such as heavy-duty, full-body hazmat suits, with dedicated air supplies.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page